Creating Hard and Adventurous Truths

Montera_Michael PalmaMontera, for me, will always taste like truth. From the moment I agreed to take on the adventure of visualizing it, the idea of exposing raw minds to the female body and the intrinsic sensuality represented in the day-to-day of the oldest profession on earth appealed to me. The inspiration which drove me to create an environment where there was room for characters with such captivating similarities and differences couldn’t yield better results.

Miguel Valderrama was awarded an HOLA in 2012 for Outstanding Technical achievement for the Lighting Design of Montera.

Miguel Valderrama was awarded an HOLA in 2012 for Outstanding Technical achievement for the Lighting Design of Montera.

As a designer, I challenged more than my creativity; I ended up challenging my faith also. Was I really knowledgeable about what was happening on streets like Montera? Streets that make part of every city and town?  I realized there are more ways than one to see how these warriors make their living—they are so rough, but also so human. We are revealing the truth through sympathetic eyes. Come and see what we want you to contemplate: a story well-known that has always been there for us to judge but not empathize with. It might be a good time to see it differently.

 

This entry was posted in Montera and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

